The goal for this morning’s walk was Albert Island. I was curious to see any progress in access to the Zibi side, especially since the next Brewery Market is taking place there on October 22,  instead of Hintonburg. Sorry to report that the gates were locked. I did see some great autumn leaves along the river. And cyclists were even using their bells thus morning!

From the War Museum, I thought I’d take the new Booth Street overpass. On my way, I had hoped to check out the new temporary park at the southwest corner of Booth and SirJAM. Unfortunately, for some strange reason, pedestrians are not allowed to cross from the northwest corner to the southwest corner. So I waited three light cycles and then couldn’t be bothered.

I did see my first view of the west end tracks. That was exciting. When the dump trucks weren’t whizzing behind me.

Then I walked along Scott Street to see how many busses have been shifted there. It wasn’t too bad. A bit loud, but better than I had expected.

A couple of new businesses in the hood:

  • Bloomfields, in the former location of Tim’s Used Sports.
  • Anytime Fitness is moving into the old Polanco location but not opened yet

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

