The WordPress.com monkeys sent me the link for my year in review. This year I thought I’d add my own thoughts about the past year.

I meant to blog a lot more than I did. I walked or cycled almost every day in the hood, sometimes snapping photos with my phone to remind myself that something new had popped up or closed down. But then I would get busy with life and forget to post.

Blogging in retirement is almost like having a job. And I haven’t quite worked it into my routine. Except for when we travel. Then I like to write about what we’ve done because the days all blend into one by the end of the trip.

So here’s all the info from December that I meant to post but didn’t:

  • You don’t need a car to get a tree from the Parkdale Market. Typically we would use our sled to bring it home. Obviously this wasn’t possible this year. With NosyNeighbour’s neck problems carrying it was ruled out. So this year I brought a dolly and a couple of bungee cords. Problem solved!
  • Chlorophylle, the small outdoor clothing store beside MEC, has now closed. They’re a Quebec-based chain, so if you really miss them, you can find them in Montreal.
  • The West End Well has finally closed. I never did understand what it was trying to be. The prices were inflated, the selection too small, and the staff were indifferent.
  • Moving in to the former location of the Well is ….. drum roll please …. Suzy Q. And the little shack will be closing. Too bad, I think it’s part of the vibe. But I wish them all the success in their new location.
  • The Ontario Municipal Board has approved Mizrahi’s revised proposal for the northeast corner of Island Park and Richmond Road / Wellingtons Street West. No sales office has appeared, yet.
  • I heard it through a friend, who heard it from her husband, who heard it from a fellow dog walker, that Ashcroft will argue that the convent needs to come down due to instability. And, of course, in its place two new towers, one 24-storey and one 12-storey, will rise from the ashes. Sigh. I sure hope not.

I don’t make new year’s resolution, but I will aim to be more timely with share my news. And look for some travel posts in 2016!

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

