I still can’t believe I used to blog almost every day when I was at work. Maybe it was to give me a sense of the good things around me. You know, write them down, say them out loud so you’d believe they existed. So glad I’m not at work now. Maybe that’s why I haven’t been blogging as much.

Two things I noticed on a recent walk. Well, maybe it’s been a few days:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And now for whazzup this weekend:

  • Hintonburg Happening starts this Saturday and runs for nine days. It’s all about art, music, fashion, and of course food.
  • Even though it’s part of Hintonburg Happening, I wanted to highlight this interesting fact. The first motion picture ever projected in Canada was in Hintonburg. They’re recreating the event a few blocks east on June 22. You can read more about it in this Ottawa Citizen article.
  • If you’re thirsty on June 21, check out the Great Canadian Lemonade Standemonium along Wellington West. Kids will be selling lemonade to raise funds for the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation.

And now I’ll tell you about something NosyNeighbour and I did last week. The German Ambassador hosted a week of cultural events to mark the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, among other things. Tickets were free and included “wine tasting”. I’m not a wine drinker so imagine how pleased I was when I arrived at the first event (with a neighbour) to discover real German beer on tap served in the appropriate glass! After the show they served German sausages!

The next event was on Thursday and featured Jojo Wendt, a jazz pianist and entertainer. Again free wine and beer before, during and after the show, and free Dr.Oetker’s pizza.

Which just goes to show you that you can find free stuff to do in Ottawa if you look for it.

