Clearly, it has been too long since I’ve posted. NosyNeighbour has been snapping photos with his phone when we’ve gone out for neighbourhood walks, but we just haven’t had time to upload the pics. So I’m going to see how much I remember of what’s new in the hood:

  • The Cupcake Lounge is now open in Westboro. When we walked by a group of young women were busy devouring cupcakes and laughing. Yup, I can see it being a place where the girls for dessert.
  • Zazaza in Hintonburg had a help wanted sign up a few weeks back. I thought that meant imminent opening too. But not so far. The only change is the facade is finally seeing some progress. They’ve been at it since February …. hope the service is faster!
  • In my last post, I mentioned that the liquor license application at Euphoria was no longer posted. Since then, a patio-based gelato place has opened. We stopped by to try some. Very tasty. The best thing about it has to be the ambiance. It reminded me of beer garden in Germany, sitting under the shade of a large tree (it wasn’t a chestnut tree, but still quite nice). I still don’t know the name of it.
  • The windows at Fab Gear 64 were papered over the last time we walked by. The sign was still on the wall and I don’t remember seeing a for lease sign. Will let you know if I find out more when I’m out and about today.

Missed opportunities:

  • The Ottawa Brewery Market was last Sunday at the Parkdale Market. I hope they have another one. We stumbled across the first one at the site of the new Eddy building in Hintonburg. And it was perfect timing since we’d just finished a big hike in the Gatineau Park.
  • The Ottawa BAWI was held in early August. This international competition for balancing rocks was held at Remic Rapids. Now that I’m workfree, I wonder if this is a new skill I should consider?

Sorry it’s a short post. I’ll see what else I discover this week.

 

