Spring was in the air today, which meant a walk around the hood for this no-longer-working woman. Oh, and my library books were due soon so I figured I’d head in that direction first.  This time I remembered to take pics with the phone and finally got the bluetooth transfer to work. So heading west to east, here are my updates:

  • Flowers Talk is moving to Orleans. No indication of when on the sign.
  • The former location of Renee Levesque has been leased. No indication of what’s moving in.
  • Lots of busy beavers in the future Wellington Mags / Toy Soldier Market(which is moving from its current Byward Market News location) and the future Flying Banzini. The dividing wall in the former Collected Works shop has been reinstalled, and the east wall of the future restaurant is now exposed brick. You can see more pics and read about the restaurant’s progress here.
  • Cambridge Design Gallery is closing its location on Wellington and is having a moving sale. I believe the sign said March 16 was the last day. Could it be higher rents in that building? I remember when Artistic Cake Design left for that reason.
  • The former FiNet computer/home security …. let’s face it I never really knew what it was but suspected it was a front for shady dealings … on Wellington just east on Holland is being converted into a medical clinic and pharmacy.

So I dropped off my library books and continued along. I was going to pop into Giant Tiger for some Frank’s Red Hot (on sale this week for $3!) Because well …. I put that shit on everything. But it wasn’t 9:00 yet so I continued on towards the Dollarama. Along the way I noticed:

  • the former Vina Del Mar, which I believe is going to be a second Pizzazza, if being totally gutted. They kindly cut out a small hole for me to take a pic of the progress. A ways to go yet
  • the “renovated” building that houses Bridgehead, Isobels, the Hintonburg Public House and a wine bar is almost looking finished …. finally!  At least finished enough to finally put up a few of the signs.

And here are the pics to help visualize the updates.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

