Last October, NosyNeighbour and I attended the Craft Brewers’ Market in Hintonburg. I’d read a quick blurb somewhere so we stopped after hiking the morning away in the Gatineau Park. Nothing like sampling a few beers to rehydrate, right?

And while I’ve wandered down to Winterlude three times this year (that’s what happens when you have photo assignments for class!), I didn’t hear about this new event until after the fact:

I know there’s a lot happening for Winterlude, but I find the NCC’s web site isn’t well organized. At the start of Winterlude I tried to find out whether there were fireworks. I still don’t know if they had any. So, here’s the new event I missed (from the NCC’s web site buried at the bottom of a page).

WinterBrewed

WinterBrewed

Ottawa’s newest annual craft beer festival is here!

On the final weekend of Winterlude, join the award-winning team from National Capital Craft Beer Week for two days of fun and activities.

  • Celebrate the 200th anniversary of craft brewing in Canada’s Capital Region with fantastic seasonal craft brewed beer and artisanal food.
  • Warm up to a hot beer, or enjoy one of your craft-brewed favourites from around the region and beyond.
  • Cheer on your favourite team during our winter games, and participate in the largest snowman building competition around!
  • Enjoy our on-site sugar bush in the beauty of Ottawa’s oldest pedestrian mall.

We have fun planned for adults and kids alike. Age of majority is required to enjoy the beer.

Activities are free; however, attendees will need to purchase the official festival glass in order to buy beer, as well as festival tokens to sample beer and food.

Saturday, February 16 and Sunday, February 17
11:30 am to 9 pm

Presented by the National Capital Craft Beer Week in collaboration with the Downtown Rideau BIA.

If anybody reading this attended, let me know if it was any good. Hopefully next year I’ll hear about it BEFORE it happens!

