When we cycled along the Ottawa River pathway last Saturday, I noticed clusters large flying insects at certain points along the path between the rock sculptures and Parkdale.

Then, walking at lunch on Tuesday I noticed a bigger cluster on the Portage Bridge.

Yesterday’s cycle along the river pathway heading home was almost unbelieveable. The bugs were so bad from Parkdale to rocks I actually had to put my hand in front of my mouth so I wouldn’t eat any. I closed my eyes for a good 10 seconds too.  Blind cycling is not recommended.

I have no clue if they are locusts. All I know is I want them to leave me alone. I was wearing dress clothes on the bike yesterday, and after going through the swarm, I found about a dozen clingers-on. When I arrived home, I discovered two little pervert clingers-on had climbed inside my top. GROSS! YUCK!

I’m hoping today’s bike ride will be bug free. If you’ve seen them or know what they are, please let me know!

