I have a good friend who is now a full time artist. When NosyNeighbour and I went to the Grand Canyon a few years ago, I saw a small cottage at the top of the canyon that was used by the artist in residence.

I told my friend about the program there and suggested she investigate what programs are available through Parks Canada. She did and has been accepted into Art in the Park Ivvavik 2012. Ivvavik National Park is on the on the Yukon North Slope. Artists fly in to a remote base camp nestled in the British Mountains, to be inspired by an ancient and rugged arctic landscape.

Getting to the Yukon isn’t cheap and she is raising funds to support her travel to the Yukon. Since I’m the one who told her about the artist in residency options in our national parks, and I think she’s a great artist and a dear friend, have a look at her art and think about supporting her.

