I read a news article last week that compared the behaviour of rich people with not-so-rich people. The findings indicate that most rich people are unethical, even to the point of taking candy meant for kids. Well, since this is a childfree blog, I can’t condemn them for that one. The article got me thinking about the difference between rich and poor. Are rich people rich because they’re cheap?

In my 20s, I had a bit of a spending problem. When I was bummed out in my go-nowhere job, I would shop with the credit cards to make myself feel better. It was a never ending cycle. Eventually I grew up and realized that credit card debt is the worse debt to have. Since then I’ve paid off my credit bill in full every month. With the exception of the month that I misplaced it.

When NosyNeighbour and I attended a pre-retirement workshop, I realized just how different our spending patterns are compared to the average working person. So, here’s my list of “I’m so cheap ….”

  1. I walk home from work at least three days a week to save the six bus tickets it would have taken me to get home.
  2. I always bring my lunch to work.
  3. I rarely buy a coffee or drinks at work.
  4. I make a meal plan each week so I don’t waste food (and only buy meat when it’s on sale!)
  5. I always bring a list shopping and rarely buy things not on the list.
  6. I have never driven to work if I’ve had to pay for parking.
  7. All summer I cycle to work, even if it’s raining or cold.
  8. I won’t buy anything over $20 without shopping around for the best deal.
  9. I believe that price tags are suggested only and always ask if I can get a better deal.
  10. I know the difference between a need and a want. (e.g. I want a new purse, but I NEED a vacation!)
