I went to bed early last night, hoping to catch up on some much needed sleep. AroundmidnightI woke up thinking that the cat was trying to open the door to the bedroom. The cat was awake, but he was meowing because of all the noise outside.

Trees were swaying in the strong winds, shaking off chunks of ice that had formed in the afternoon. The wind was then taking the chunks and throwing them on the windows, more than 20 feet away. This continued for a couple of hours. Sometimes it sounded like the raccoons were back on the roof. Oh, memories of critters scurrying around above your head while you try to sleep.

Needless to say I didn’t catch up on my sleep. After all the hype about 15 to 20 cm of snow, we ended up with maybe 5 cm with a thick coating of ice. It made for an interesting walk to the transitway this morning. Some sections of sidewalk had been plowed, or maybe I should say “broken up”. Side streets had sidewalks that were frozen with last night’s foot steps. The  bumpy, slippery ice did offer some traction until I made it to the Scott Street MUP.

I had thought that I’d missed the 105 so I decided to take the first bus going downtown and transfer at Lebreton Flats. I’ve decided that I don’t mind being a lemming, provided that I get my copy of 24H at the station. The older man who hands them out is likely homeless, or was at some point. But he really enjoys talking to people and provides an interesting commentary on that corner of life inOttawa. He knows many people’s faces and who takes a paper. He definitely makes the wait much more tolerable, especially when the wind is whipping into your face and cars are covering you with a wet, dirty blanket of slush.

After five minutes, I saw the 105 barrelling down the transitway. I guess this morning it was late, not me. Before it had a chance to circle Lebreton  Station, the #8 showed up and the lemmings piled on, one by one through the front door.

