Yesterday my old walking pool buddy e-mailed me, and we decided to walk home together after work. We had started during the bus strike and realized that it wasn’t really that far to walk one way and had the added benefit of incorporating exercise into your daily routine. Depending on how clear the sidewalks are, it takes about 50 to 70 minutes. I suppose it also depends on ho wmuch we’re talking, whether we stop to look in new businesses, and which way the wind is blowing. It was nice to catch up with her and see what was going on in Hintonburg.

On the way through Hintonburg, she pointed out that the dog café had closed last week. Apparently there were to have an auction to sell off the contents inside. A sign still hung in the window saying that everything must go. Tables and chairs were still arranged, waiting for customers who would never  arrive. I can’t say that I’m surprised, given that they didn’t really seem to have a business plan.

We also noticed that the Hintonburger had re-opened in its new location, the old KFC. All the tables were occupied, and a few people were sitting on the bench in front of the window, waiting for their orders. The “for lease” sign is still up on the bucket pole, and the bucket still says KFC. I guess they’re waiting for spring to make over the outside.

All that walking yesterday made me a bit late this morning. I was hoping for a winter storm warning to be in effect when I woke up so that everyone else would be late. But, like so many other storms that were supposed to wallop us with snow, this one decided to miss us. Maybe I’ll be luck and the freezing rain warning will send us home early!

