Happy New Year! It’s been a while since I’ve posted. And maybe you’ve been wondering how I’ve been getting to work. Or maybe not.

The first week back NosyNeighbour and I were on a pre-retirement course so we car pooled because there was free parking. Then I lucked out the first real day back in the office because the transfer machine on the first bus wasn’t working. I didn’t even need a transfer, but I’ll take the free ride. Remember, if the bus driver ever asks you if you need a transfer, the answer is always YES!  Then on another day, my transfer didn’t have a time, which meant it was good all day.

Taking the bus was getting better and better. Until yesterday, when my first bus after work was so packed with people. OC Transpo why do you have a small #8 bus arrive at Terrace de la Chaudiere at 4:05? Do you not think half the building empties out then? Then I had to stand on my next bus down the transitway. I wasn’t near a vertical pole and had to hold on to the hanging straps for one stop. I thought my arm was going to come out of its socket. It seems they took the articulated buses from the #8 and moved them to other routes. Sigh : (

Yesterday’s experience made me wish for an early spring so I can ride my bike again. But I’m a skier too.  That’s a nice segue into why I haven’t posted lately. I’ve been busy living life. On the weekend, we decided to check out snowshoeing in the Gatineau Park. We’ve done it in the Greenbelt, where it’s flat, and brought our snowshoes to the training centre which is on the edge of the Gatineau Park. The first trail we snowshoed on was a winter hiking trail. It was shared with hikers, snowshoers, crosscountry skiers and dog walkers. It was relatively flat and about the same as the Greenbelt. So on the weekend we decided to try out the trails from Relais plein air du parc de la Gatineau (P2).

I didn’t really study the map before we set off, thinking it would be like the Greenbelt trails. NOT! It was climbing up and down hills, over fallen trees, and criss-crossing the cross country ski trails. We hadn’t brought water, food or a backpack. Needless to say on such a mild day, we overheated, dried out and I bonked on the way back. There are three loops that you can do. It took us about an hour to do the first one, including stops for pics and trying to figure out how to go downhill on snowshoes. Some of the descents were quite steep and relatively long for a first time out on real trails.

In neighbourhood news:

  • the Mostly Danish sign has been removed
  • the Hintonburger has opened in its new location (the former KFC)
  • Aroma Meze is now only open for supper (closed at lunch)

That’s all I can think of for now. If I’ve missed anything, please let me know.

