The longer I cycle to work, the more determined I am to keep going. I’ve said it before that I’m conflicted when it comes to snow. I love skiing, snowshoeing and tobogganing, but I love my cycling commute as well.

Last night when the fluffy flakes were floating by the window I wondered once again whether I’d be able to cycle this morning. I was really hoping I would be able to because I needed to bring canned goods and other gifts to work for the Christmas hamper we’re preparing for a family in need.

I really wasn’t keen to walk with a heavy backpack, try running for a bus with a heavy backpack or manoeuvre on a packed city bus with a heavy backpack.

I woke up this morning and sneaked a peak out the window before going downstairs to bring up the cat for morning cuddles. Our neighbour down the street was leaving for work, and as he backed out of the driveway his headlights shone on the road. It was bare. In fact, barely a snowflake was on the driveway. Cycle it is!

My next concern was what to do with all the heavy stuff. Should I use two panniers to even out the load? Would the extra weight give me more traction on a snow-covered path?

In the end, I decided to use one, more for aerodynamics. Only who of the side streets were snow covered and a bit slick.Scott Streetwas clear, as was Parkdale. TheOttawa Riverpathway was snow covered, but with the extra weight on the back wheel I had no problems. It was also a lot milder than I had expected. So mild, that I even passed two pairs of walking commuters. I also passed a jogger. I didn’t see any other cyclists though.

Upon arriving at work, I counted the number of other bikes. We’re down to five today. Could I do this all winter? What would I need to do to the bike to winterize it?

