Since my last post, I’ve endured a couple of adventures. On Tuesday morning, I opted to climb (with pannier bag and helmet) 18 storeys to my office because only one elevator was working.

On Wednesday morning, I was talking to our main contractor, looking at the clouds roll in. It started to rain, so I waited it out a few minutes, and then decided to get going. I made it all the way to work before I realized that my pannier bag, holding my dry clothes, breakfast, lunch, ID and wallet, was still sitting on the front step.

It was the third day in a row that the weather forecast was way off. Instead of being warm and sunny, it was cold and rainy. I had no lock, and tried to call my boss to let him know I’d have to go back home. The commissionaire insisted she couldn’t find his name, even though I said the department and spelt his name three times.

By the time I rode home, the roofers were all waiting for me to ask: how far did you get before you realized? I grabbed my soaking wet pannier, unlocked the door, found some dry clothes and set off to re-start my journey, this time by bus.

While waiting at the bus stop, I did get confirmation of an earlier piece of gossip I posted here. It will be a spa, opening in mid-July. I didn’t get the name, but it’s a first for the owner and his/her brother, who is a massage therapist.  After cycling 12 km in the rain with no breakfast, I felt like I could use a spa something.

Progress was also made on the house. The windows and door are installed, and the wall from the existing kitchen into the addition has been taken down. The hole was also removed. Okay, it was filled in.

I also took Thursday off, to finish off my bricks: 461 in all that can be re-used to brick the addition. So, that’s $461 saved at a cost of sore hands and butt, burnt arms, and aching shoulders and neck from being stooped over. But it did give me a sense of accomplishment, and I know I’ll admire my handiwork when it’s all done.

