I know you’re probably wondering what happened to day 2 of the strike. I spent that one at home resting and stretching my back. This morning Jane kindly  picked up me and Rob taking the guess work out of getting to work. Traffic wasn’t as bad as I thought it would have been but I suspect a lot of people decided to take the day off.Today was our Christmas work party, down at the Bytown Tavern. I had a couple of options for a ride home, but they all involved walking back downtown. I couldn’t bare the thought of getting stuck in traffic so I decided to walk home, along Somerset.

The weird thing was that the snow still hadn’t been cleared off the sidewalks from downtown all the way to where it turns into Wellington. Along Wellington they had cleared it away and there didn’t seem to be much traffic. I’m guessing that’s because it was all still stuck downtown. I was definitely overdressed for my walk. After 20 minutes, I was starting to sweat and by the time I got home I was drenched. Down-filled jackets are not required unless you’re waiting for a bus.

But at least that’s better than being stuck in traffic. Some people in my office waited for an hour and a half to pay to get out of the parking garage. And that was before they even got to the road.

The more I think about it, the more I think winter cycling might be an option. Maybe I’ll try riding the bike around the hood this weekend just to see. Clothing wise I think I’d be okay. It’s the bike and potential breakdowns that worry me.

We’ll see what happens on Monday …

