Monday morning bright and early my friend Brenda came to pick me up for a hike in the Park. I suggested she bring along her dogs, knowing how much they must miss being able to run free in the country since their move back into town.

Sarah with Jake and Lucky

Sarah with Jake and Lucky

I was also selfishly trying to get myself more exposure to animals in preparation for the possible mule ride in the Grand Canyon later this year. She has two fairly large black/chocolate labs, which are obedient, but a bit too friendly for my liking. Okay, so I admit it, I have a bit of a fear of dogs. The total opposite to my love of cats. Anyways, I figure the more I’m around them, the easier it gets. You know, conquer your fears — don’t let them rule your life.

So we started by Old Chelsea from the parking lot off Kingsmere Road. This is the beginning of Ridge Road trail. From there we hiked up crossing the Gatineau Parkway to the lookout. The dogs were pretty tired by then. I don’t think they’ve ever climbed a hill that long. Brenda was pretty pooped too. But I remember the first

Brenda and Sarah at the lookout

Brenda and Sarah at the lookout

time we did it. I had to stop several times too to catch my breath. You can see the map for more info on our route.

At the top we exchanged food snacks. Brenda had brought the 180 calorie cookie, and I had brought the small trail mix package from  Costco, weighing in at 230 calories. After replenishing our fluids as well, we set off back down the hill. The dogs were much quieter on the ride home. No stereo panting at all…. 😀

I think going for the hike the day after cycling was a good idea. My legs aren’t tired today, but they sure were itching after the bug bites at the Champlain Lookout. And I’m looking forward to more hiking with both Brenda and the dogs, and Rob too.

